Creative Application: Sikhism

My name is Ravidas, named after a saint.  I am a Sikh and I live in Lahore, Pakistan.   I do as much as I can to follow my religion well, and I meditate whenever I can to find God, who, I believe, is formless and without characteristics.  Even though God is unknowable, I find that he has been compassionate to me, allowing me to go to a school and never to be hungry.

Every day, when I have a little time, I try to read some of the Adi Granth, which is our holy book, a compilation of the teachings of our gurus, the wisest of Sikhs.   The greatest guru of all, who lived in the Punjab (a region of India and Pakistan), was Guru Nanak.  He encountered God himself and was appointed his great servant.  I find the book to be very interesting, and I have found some pieces of advice that help me with my daily life in addition to being inspiring.  “Enshrine the Lord’s Name within your heart.” it reads.  “The Word of the Guru’s Bani prevails throughout the world, through this Bani, the Lord’s Name is obtained.” – the Guru Amar Das

Every year, my family makes a tradition of visiting Amritsar, the world’s holiest city, to see the Golden Temple – the Harimandir Sahib – which is the world’s holiest spot.  It is always very quiet, and very beautiful, with a small lake in the center and beautiful domes and buildings.  Later in the year, every April, we celebrate Vaisakhi – the Sikh New Year.  We always go to the riverbank in our brightest clothes and have a special meal afterwards.

Because Sikhism prohibits discrimination based on class, we always give to the poor, and I try to volunteer every week at the local hospital here in Lahore.  Speaking of which, I just realized that I have to do that now, so I’ll have to be back again later.

Boehm, Richard G. “Sikhism.” World Geography and Cultures. Columbus: Glencoe/McGraw Hill, 2012. Print.

designldg. “p1660065.” Photograph. In a Grain of Sand. DesignLDG by Laurent G, 30 Janaury 2011. Web. 10 January 2012. http://designldg.wordpress.com/category/4-benaras-varanasi/banarsi-portraits/

This entry was written by amay4ecspress and published on January 11, 2012 at 3:36 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Creative Application: Sikhism

  1. Why was the Golden Temple built?

Leave a Reply

